Network committed to healthy unis

Cate Swannell
Med J Aust || doi: 10.5694/mja16.1804C1
Published online: 18 April 2016

REPRESENTATIVES from 25 Australian universities have joined to form the Australian Health Promoting Universities Network (AHPUN), working collaboratively to create healthier university campuses and communities.

The AHPUN is one of the outcomes from the inaugural Australian Health Promoting Universities meeting held recently, a joint initiative of Western Sydney University (WSU) and the University of Sydney (UoS).

Following the success of similar networks in the UK, US and Canada, the AHPUN will help universities share best practice across the sector, and work to improve the health and wellbeing of more than one million students and over 100 000 university staff members.

Initiatives championed by the AHPUN include increasing the availability of healthy food options in campus outlets, creating sustainable, student-led initiatives that encourage better mental health, and promoting safe and respectful relationships.

Vice-Chancellor of WSU and chair of Universities Australia, Professor Barney Glover, welcomed the formation of the AHPUN.

“Universities must be at the forefront of addressing major health challenges, such as improving mental health and preventing chronic disease. As the national peak body representing the Australian university sector, Universities Australia also supports this important initiative,” Professor Glover said.

“Health-promoting universities are those that embed health in our teaching, learning and research, and create supportive environments in which our students and staff can flourish and succeed. University graduates who are resilient, and value their health and the health of others, contribute significantly to our society and are role models for their communities.”

Dr Michael Spence, Vice-Chancellor and Principal of UoS said: “The AHPUN is an important step towards achieving a nationally adopted ‘whole-of-campus’ approach to health promotion.

“Current efforts to enhance student and staff health on Australian campuses are well intentioned yet sporadic. This network is about moving beyond service provision and risk reduction and creating a higher education system that prioritises the health and wellbeing of its community as part of core business.

“Public health research has consistently shown that targeting individuals to lead healthier lifestyles is not as effective as when a whole environment or setting is there to support them.”

Further meetings are planned for the year, with the AHPUN keen to secure support from other Australian universities.

The AHPUN and its universities will also seek to sign the Okanagan Charter. Launched in October 2015 by the University of British Columbia in Canada, the charter calls for universities to embed health into all aspects of campus culture and operations, and to encourage health promotion activities in the wider community.

The following universities are committed to AHPUN: Australian Catholic University; Australian National University; Curtin University; Deakin University; Federation University Australia; La Trobe University; Macquarie University; Queensland University of Technology; RMIT University; Southern Cross University; Swinburne University of Technology; University of Adelaide; University of Melbourne; University of New England; University of New South Wales; University of Newcastle; University of Notre Dame; University of Queensland; University of South Australia; University of Sydney; University of Tasmania; University of Technology Sydney; University of the Sunshine Coast; University of Wollongong; Western Sydney University.

  • Cate Swannell



remove_circle_outline Delete Author
add_circle_outline Add Author

Do you have any competing interests to declare? *

I/we agree to assign copyright to the Medical Journal of Australia and agree to the Conditions of publication *
I/we agree to the Terms of use of the Medical Journal of Australia *
Email me when people comment on this article

Online responses are no longer available. Please refer to our instructions for authors page for more information.